Nevertheless, Zack Snyder himself has religiously fed the online community with nuggets of information over the past two years. Pieces of concept art for the movie keep showing up. Plot details from the unused script have been discussed. Overall, the cast and crew also have been very supportive of Snyder’s vision, save Jesse Eisenberg. Eisenberg, who played Lex Luthor in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and Justice League, recently sat down with the Toronto Sun to promote his new movie, Resistance. During the course of the interview, the 36-year-old actor was asked of his opinion on the alternate cut, to which he responded: “I’m not sure because I don’t watch anything I’ve been in, and I haven’t seen either Batman v Superman or Justice League. I know that I had a smaller part in one of them, but I get pretty uncomfortable watching myself. So, I’m not aware of a Snyder Cut. I’m not part of — I don’t even know what to call it — the movement. I like Zack Snyder and I worked with him for a while just by virtue of these movies taking so long to film. I love his style and aesthetic and if there’s a movie he wanted to see released, I’m sure it would be great.” Eisenberg also commented on his future as Superman’s greatest nemesis, stating that he does not know what is happening within the slate of DCEU films, but noting his willingness to step into the role yet again. “I love that part, but I don’t know what they’re doing with any of the movies. Playing him was the kind of thing you get to do in acting class in high school and never get to do in a movie.”

Unlike his other DCEU cast-members, Jesse Eisenberg has an indifferent stance to the Snyder Cut particularly because he himself has not seen the theatrical version. Besides, his role within the movie was very minute. Lex Luthor only had about 37 seconds of screentime in a post-credits scene where Joe Manganiello’s Slade Wilson was introduced. As such, it would make sense why he would not be actively dinging away for the alternate cut like his Justice League co-stars. While the DCEU seems to be shying away from big team-ups for now, at least we know that one of their biggest villains is still willing to return.

Jesse Eisenberg Does Not Care About the Justice League Snyder Cut - 73